top of page

North Carolina public school students in grades 3, 5, and 8 are required to meet statewide standards for promotion in addition to local promotion requirements.

Students in grades 3-8 must take annual End-of-Grade (EOG) assessments in English language arts/reading, mathematics and science (grades 5 and 8).

Note: Information for the 2019/2020 academic year is unavailable due to COVID-19 

Grade 3-8 Reading Proficiency

Grade 3-8 Math Proficiency

Grade 5&8 Science Proficiency

Grade 3 Reading Proficiency

Grade 3 Math Proficiency

Grade 5 Math Proficiency

Grade 8 Reading Proficiency

Grade 5 Reading Proficiency

Grade 5 Science Proficiency

Grade 8 Math Proficiency

Grade 8 Science Proficiency

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction,

Note: Data is measured annually.

bottom of page